Boston Bucket List:Pride

I have fulfilled another item on my bucket list! I attended Boston’s Pride Festival! My partner arranged for us to walk in the parade which was super awesome. The parade went for about 2.5 miles, many people lined the streets of the back bay

Boston area.

Confetti was thrown from drag queens on various floats, small pride flags were handed out to bystanders and so much free stuff hurled from parade goers. I have been to every Lexington, KY pride festival ,watched the festival  grow in size , I have seen the various acts of hate committed during the festival. I have loved every single person I’ve ever met at LexPride. My first few pride festivals, I befriended several older butches that helped buy me beer and included me in after pride fest ragers. For almost a decade I have ruled LexPride, from knowing almost everyone to meeting new faces. Boston pride was very different mainly because there were thousands of supporters and thousands of queer folks. A woman on the train said “happy pride! I support you!”. What a great random voice of support! I did not see any protestors, I saw many different organizations participating. Even gay police officers marched! Pride is like Christmas for me and let me just say, Boston Pride was my first sober pride fest and I loved it… I recommend that small town queers and allies venture to a larger city Pride Fest. You won’t be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

